## **COUNCIL COMMITTEE ON ACADEMIC MISSION**



3737 Wascana Parkway Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada S4S 0A2 http://www.uregina.ca/president/governance/council/CCAM.html

October 26, 2021

Dr. Susanne Kuehling Head, Department of Anthropology Faculty of Arts University of Regina

Re: Re: Verbal response to External Review

Dear Dr. Kuehling,

Thank you for meeting with CCAM on October 5th to discuss the External Reviewers' Report. Your comments to the committee regarding the reviewers' recommendations were very helpful, and it is our hope that the discussion will be useful as the Department prepares a written response to the Report. The written response is to be submitted to CCAM by the end of November 2021. As per the AUR policy (OPS-130-005), your written response should address the issues raised and each of the recommendations made in the Report as well as comments from CCAM. The response should also outline how the Department plans to implement those recommendations of the External Reviewers with which it agrees.

We encourage the Department to continue its discussions around collaborative initiatives with relevant academic units at the University of Regina and the University of Saskatchewan; to explore the possibility of an Interdisciplinary graduate program with two or more relevant departments in the Faculty of Arts; and to continue to investigate different modalities of teaching such as hybrid or highFlex for ANTH 100.

The committee looks forward to meeting with the Department of Anthropology next year to discuss the Department's progress in implementing the recommendations of the External Reviewers' Report. In advance of the 15-18 month meeting, please complete the CCAM response template outlining your progress on each of the reviewers' recommendations.

As part of the five-year follow up, the Department will submit a final report to CCAM demonstrating the achievements of the program as a result of the Academic Unit Review process.

Sincerely,

Dr. david Gregory, Interim Provost and Vice-President (Academic)

Christina Winter, Chair Council Committee on Academic Mission

cc: Dr. Nilgün Önder, Associate Vice-President (Academic)

Dr. Shannon Dea, Dean, Faculty of Arts